Doja Cat Is Songwriter of the Year at BMI Pop Awards 2023 |

Trending 4 months ago

Doja Cat was named popular songwriter of nan twelvemonth astatine nan privately-held BMI Pop Awards connected May 9 astatine nan Beverly Wilshire Hotel successful Beverly Hills, Calif. Though she wasn’t coming astatine nan ceremony, Doja Cat had six of nan most-performed songs of 2022 – “Get Into It (Yuh)” (co-written pinch Sully and Y2K), “I Like You (A Happier Song)” (co-written pinch Jasper Harris), “Need to Know,” “Vegas” (co-written pinch Rogét Chahayed and Yeti Beats), “Woman” (co-written pinch Aaron Horn (PRS), Linden Jay (PRS), Jidenna and Yeti Beats) and “You Right.”

Khalid was presented pinch nan BMI Champion Award by BMI president and CEO Mike O’Neill, who lauded nan singer-songwriter’s philharmonic contributions, manufacture accolades (he’s amassed 18 BMI awards) and dedication to uplifting early songwriters.

Alongside his mother, Linda Wolfe, Khalid started nan Great Khalid Foundation successful 2020, which offers euphony acquisition programs, danasiwa awards and organization partnerships for young artists. Among its galore efforts, nan instauration precocious helped donate backpacks to mediate schools and put together a Mother’s Day essay-writing contest.

After his acceptance speech, nan BMI Champion treated audiences to an acoustic capacity of his debut smash single, “Location,” on pinch “Better” and “Talk.”

BMI President & CEO Mike O’Neill, BMI Champion Award honoree Khalid and BMI Vice President, Worldwide Creative Barbara Cane airs together astatine nan 2023 BMI Pop Awards connected May 9, 2023 held astatine nan Beverly Wilshire Hotel successful Beverly Hills, CA. (Photo Credit- Lester Cohen/Getty Images for BMI)

BMI’s popular opus of nan twelvemonth grant went to “Stay” written by Cashmere Cat, Isaac “Zac” De Boni, Omer Fedi, Haan, nan Kid Laroi (APRA), Michael “Finatik” Mulé, Charlie Puth and Blake Slatkin. Other honorees see Sony Music Publishing, who received nan coveted patient of nan twelvemonth grant for representing 24 of nan erstwhile year’s astir performed songs — from Steve Lacy’s Grammy-nominated “Bad Habit” to Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill.”

A full of 53 BMI artists were first-time Pop grant winners including Gayle and Sara Davis (for “abcdefu”), Tyler Cole (for “Meet Me astatine Our Spot”) and dazy and Nicky Youre (for “Sunroof”). To position a complete database of winners, spot here.